care · Depression control · Feelings · Heart · India · Inspiration · Life Experiences · Life lessons · Love · Moral · Motivation · My words · Poetry · Poetry on life · Positive Thinking · Psychology · Relationship · Rewrite · Self Help · Self Love · Sentimental · SEO · Stress · Uncategorized

How I am?

Don’t ask me how I am

If you only want to do some small talk

For small talk bores me

And doesn’t seem like a crosswalk

Between the people that are we

Don’t ask me how I am

If you don’t really care about it

For I hate meaningless conversations

I hate what doesn’t unravel me

And you, slowly, bit by bit

But if you do ask me how I am

Don’t freak out

When I tell you about the pain

that still slices through me

thinking of my grandma’s death two years ago

Or about how I am pissed

That I never got a chance to meet my granddad

Because for the final abode, he left too soon

If you ask me how I am

Be prepared

To hear about my first heartbreak

that still clenches my gut only by the thought

Or about the story of the pet I lost

At a very isolated spot

If you ask me how I am

Take a little more time out

For I’ll tell you about how happy I am today

Because I sighted a very rare butterfly

Whose wings were golden, and looked beautiful in its own way

Ask me how I am

Only if you are ready

To know about the little things that carve my world

To know about what makes me uncomfortable

To know how the sunlight that filters through the window

Fills me with a hope that is so profound

Ask me how I am

Only if you can hear

The tales of mythology that rule my heart

The stories of hope and belief and faith

And how the world is too emotionally dependent on art

Ask me how I am

If you are more than willing

Only if you know that you want

To dwell on a world that is full of marvels and dreams

For I want to sew our souls as one

With thoughts that don’t split at the seams

Woven with threads of love

unlike any that have been spun

When you ask me how I am

If all of this is not on your mind

I’ll only pity that you will never have a clue

And I’ll quietly raise my eyes to yours and say,

“I am fine, what about you?”

Leave a comment