Great personalities

3 inspiring stories by Steve Jobs

There are some great personalities in the world who gives us inspiration, encouragement and learnings. Today, I am going to share the best article with you, I will share the best speech of Steve Jobs here. Steve Jobs, co-founder of Apple, the maker of iPod and iPhone, that can change your life .  Whenever the name of the most influential entrepreneurs of the world is taken, then there should be no other name in it, there is definitely a name and that name is Steve Jobs .  He gave this speech at the convocation of Stanford University on June 12, 2005.

    As he stated,“I feel proud today to attend the convocation of one of the best universities in the world .  Let me tell you a truth, I have never passed out of any college .  And today is the first time I’ve come so close to a college graduation ceremony .  I would like to tell you three stories from my life…….

              The first story begins.

        I dropped out after the first six months at Reed College. For about 18 more months, I somehow stayed in it. But later I actually dropped out .  Preparations for my studies had started even before I was born .  My birth mother was a young, unmarried college graduate student .  And they decided to adopt me to someone . 

         She felt passionately that I was a adopted college graduate .  That’s why it was decided before birth that a lawyer and his wife would adopt me. But when I was born he realized that he wanted a girl .  So after that my parents who were waiting got a call in the middle of the night . 

        He was asked that we have a boy, would he like to adopt him? He replied – Yes .  When my biological parents found out that the mother they were going to adopt me had never attended college .  And my future father didn’t even pass high school .  That’s why he refused to sign the adoption papers. And she agreed a few months later only when my parents promised that they would one day send me to college . 

          After seventeen years I went to college but deliberately chose such an expensive college which was as expensive as Stanford .  And all the savings of my working class parents started running out in college fees . 

          After six months I started to feel that it was not worth it .  But I didn’t even know what I had to do in life .  That’s why I decided to drop out of college .  And trust that everything will be all right .  Though initially the idea was quite scary but later it turned out to be one of the best decisions for me .  After leaving college, I started taking classes that were fun . 

         I didn’t even have a room to sleep at that time. That’s why I used to sleep on the floor of my friends’ rooms. Collected bottles of coke, made arrangements for food and walked seven miles every Sunday night to have a good meal at the Hare Krishna temple. But later I found my curiosity and forethought invaluable . 

          At that time, the best education in calligraphy was given in Reed College. The posters in the campus of this college, the level on each drawer was beautifully calligraphed .  Since I had already dropped out of college and didn’t have to attend other classes .  That’s why I took admission in calligraphy class. While living here, I learned the nuances about different typefaces and realized that it is more beautiful and attractive than any science .  There was no possibility of any practical use of these things in my life. But after ten years, while designing Kitosh’s first computer, we poured all our knowledge into it . It was the first computer with beautiful typography.

          If I hadn’t taken this course, the Mac’s multiple typefaces wouldn’t have been so beautiful, and since Windows copied the Mac, it’s likely that any personal computer wouldn’t have this .  If I hadn’t dropped out of college, I wouldn’t have gone to calligraphy classes and personal computers wouldn’t have as beautiful typography as they do . 

         When I was in college, I could not see any such possibility of moving forward in life .  But ten years later it was clearly visible .  Generally you cannot move ahead by forecasting in the future and you can only see such steps by connecting them with the past.

So you have to trust that these pointers will prove to be helpful for you in future .  Give them courage, luck, life, karma or whatever you name .  But this experiment has never disappointed me in my life .  And it has made all the difference in my life . 

To be continued…….

   

       

        

          

          

         

          

          

         

Leave a comment